You are here: Home EMEA Joins Executive Committee
Document Actions
  • Send this page to somebody
  • Print this page

EMEA Joins Executive Committee

Last modified January 05, 2009 03:22 PM - EST

The European Medicines Agency has named Senior Medical Officer Hans-Georg Eichler, M.D., M.Sc. the first non-US regulatory liaison to the Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative Executive Committee.

Date: January 5, 2009
Contact: , DCRI Communications

Hans-Georg Eichler, M.D., M.Sc., Senior Medical Officer for the European Medicines Agency (EMEA), has been named the first non-US regulatory liaison to the Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI) Executive Committee. The Executive Committee recently established the liaison position and invited the EMEA to name a person to fill the position, which is non-voting and has a term of two years.

As Senior Medical Officer, Dr. Eichler is responsible for coordinating activities between the EMEA’s scientific committees and giving advice on scientific and public health issues. He is a former member of the EMEA’s Committee on Orphan Medicinal Products and Scientific Advice Working Party. 

Prior to joining the EMEA, Dr. Eichler was at the Medical University of Vienna in Austria for 15 years. He was vice-rector for Research and International Relations since 2003, and professor and chair of the Department of Clinical Pharmacology since 1992. His other previous positions include president of the Vienna School of Clinical Research and co-chair of the Committee on Reimbursement of Drugs of the Austrian Social Security Association. His industry experience includes time spent at Ciba-Geigy Research Labs, U.K., and Outcomes Research at Merck & Co., in New Jersey

Dr. Eichler graduated with an M.D. from Vienna University Medical School and a Master of Science degree in Toxicology from the University of Surrey in Guildford, U.K. He trained in internal medicine and clinical pharmacology at the Vienna University Hospital and Poison Control Centre, as well as at Stanford University.

The CTTI Executive Committee is comprised of leading figures in government, academia, industry (pharmaceutical, biotechnology, device and contract research), and patient advocacy.

This site conforms to the following standards:

  • Powered by Plone, the Open Source Content Management System
  • Section 508
  • WCAG
  • Valid XHTML
  • Valid CSS
  • Usable in any browser

Related Links

Resource Links